OBC Connect
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
OBC Connect

A site for those with an interest in the Order of Buddhist Contemplatives, past or present, and related subjects.

HomeHome  GalleryGallery  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Pensive, but feeling like I want to post.

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
Dhammadad

Pensive, but feeling like I want to post.  Empty
PostSubject: Pensive, but feeling like I want to post.    Pensive, but feeling like I want to post.  Empty5/10/2021, 1:13 am

Hi, I have limited experience with the OBC and none of Shasta Abbey. I did however stay over on a self led retreat for a week in an OBC centre here in the UK and I have to say, it was a most unpleasant experience. As there was only myself and the resident teacher present I didn't have anyone to bounce my experiences off as a litmus test of sorts. Do you think it would be prudent to speak of my experiences as although some years ago now it left me feeling co fused and a little phobic of the OBC? The latter I think a pity as having now read some of the reports in here my aspirations to become more involved with the OBC are definitely taking a back seat. 

What do you think?
Back to top Go down
mstrathern
Admin
mstrathern

PostSubject: Re: Pensive, but feeling like I want to post.    Pensive, but feeling like I want to post.  Empty5/10/2021, 3:13 am

Yes, that is exactly what this forum is about. At the very least we can offer a sympathetic ear whilst you get get stuff off your chest and support you whilst you work through it.
Back to top Go down
Dhammadad

PostSubject: Re: Pensive, but feeling like I want to post.    Pensive, but feeling like I want to post.  Empty5/10/2021, 5:57 am

mstrathern wrote:
Yes, that is exactly what this forum is about. At the very least we can offer a sympathetic ear whilst you get get stuff off your chest and support you whilst you work through it.