OBC Connect
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
OBC Connect

A site for those with an interest in the Order of Buddhist Contemplatives, past or present, and related subjects.

HomeHome  GalleryGallery  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log in  

another question

Go down 
+6
Henry
Howard
jack
Anne
Kozan
mokuan
10 posters
AuthorMessage
mokuan

another question Empty
PostSubject: another question   another question Empty12/14/2010, 9:04 pm

The insights to the question of trust were excellent. Maybe you can help me with my question:

I recognise greed in myself, I recognise anger. How do I recognise delusion?

I've been asking this question for many years and to some pretty smart people, including RMJK, and I'm still not real clear on it. Any insights would be humbly appreciated.

Great Teachers, I thank you for your great compassion.
mokuan
Back to top Go down
Kozan
Admin
Kozan

another question Empty
PostSubject: Re: another question   another question Empty12/14/2010, 9:52 pm

Great question Mokuan!

I would say that simply by asking the question you have confirmed your willingness to recognize delusion--which is by far (in my opinion) the most important requirement for being able to recognize it!

I also think that the use of the word delusion itself, ironically, tends to make it harder for us to recognize our own. Delusion, in the traditional formulation (greed, hate, and delusion) simply refers to misunderstanding. But because the word delusion is far more highly charged and judgemental than the word misunderstanding, it does not invite recognition!

I think that a misunderstanding becomes easier to recognize when we act on it, since it tends to result in less than fully successful outcomes. And this is good, since the experience of failure provides the opportunity to reassess the misunderstanding! It's how we learn.