OBC Connect
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
OBC Connect

A site for those with an interest in the Order of Buddhist Contemplatives, past or present, and related subjects.

HomeHome  GalleryGallery  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log in  

And more than a quarter of a century later...

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
danstaples

danstaples

And more than a quarter of a century later... Empty
PostSubject: And more than a quarter of a century later...   And more than a quarter of a century later... Empty5/5/2012, 2:29 am

Hello OBC community,

I was a lay trainee in residence at Shasta for a few weeks in both 1975 and 1976. I also spent some time as a layman at the Chico and Eugene Priories at about that time. The last contact I had with OBC or anyone even remotely connected was in December of 1984 when I made a brief visit to Shasta while passing on the way to a job interview. While I never got in contact, my mind visited often. Imagine stumbling on this website and all the news. So many familiar names.

When I left the Abbey in 1976, I was on my way to earn money to return and see about being ordained. An avalanche of circumstances seemed to intervene and I worked my way through a second education, becoming a certified secondary school teacher in Montana in 1984. By that time, at age 39, I had held more than 100 different job titles and did not like the experience of teaching either. That snowy Christmas Eve, at a payphone off the Interstate in Vail, Colorado, my quick stop to contact my on-again/off-again lady turned into a life-changer when her answering machine announced that she and her husband were out for the evening.