OBC Connect
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
OBC Connect

A site for those with an interest in the Order of Buddhist Contemplatives, past or present, and related subjects.

HomeHome  GalleryGallery  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Ikuko's Introduction

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
Ikuko

Ikuko's Introduction Empty
PostSubject: Re: Ikuko's Introduction   Ikuko's Introduction Empty2/16/2012, 2:40 pm

I think its good to introduce myself.

I have enjoyed reading forum contributions.I have learnt a lot.

So who the heck am I ?

Well I'm a meditator and developmental psychologist.

I go to Throssel,but do not hold any teaching or discipleship role.

I appreciate the environment that having a temple provides,but have learnt that all the spiritual work I do takes place in the unfolding of my ordinary and sometimes not so ordinary life.

I have learnt so much from many many people.Some of those people are religious affiliates,many aren't.

I first heard about RMJK in 1972.I was living and working in London.

I loved Alan Watts,and Suzuki,I had developed my own kind of mysticism and spiritual beliefs,I'd rejected Christianity.I thought this Zen stuff was just for men.Yes,I was born in the Dark Ages,1948 to be exact.My mum was a feminist and a realist,so I kind of took for granted that exclusion from certain areas of life and privilege was the norm.All the pictures of Buddhist icons were of males;Christmas Humphreys was some posh guy with lots of money...

Then my boyfriend told me he was going to Northumberland.There was a WOMAN Zen Master who had returned from Japan,and he was going to meet her.

From then on,the only romance between us was the plan to visit this Roshi Kennett.

I arrived at Throssel Hole Farm on an early summer afternoon,and was greeted by Kembo the cook.Wow! An actual Buddhist monk!(Iwas but a girl).