OBC Connect
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
OBC Connect

A site for those with an interest in the Order of Buddhist Contemplatives, past or present, and related subjects.

HomeHome  GalleryGallery  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log in  

The Storytelling Animal - How Stories Make Us Human by Jonathan Gottschall

Go down 
2 posters
AuthorMessage
Jcbaran

Jcbaran

The Storytelling Animal - How Stories Make Us Human by Jonathan Gottschall Empty
PostSubject: The Storytelling Animal - How Stories Make Us Human by Jonathan Gottschall   The Storytelling Animal - How Stories Make Us Human by Jonathan Gottschall Empty7/21/2012, 11:36 am

THE STORYTELLING ANIMAL is a relatively new book and an issue I enjoy exploring, so I bought an e-version of the book. Just got an Ipad, so testing out how it is to read a book on such a device.

So I am just beginning to dive into this book. To me, most if not all "religion" on this planet is story-based, narratives, fiction, mythology, exaggerations, confabulations, tribal tales, woven together. There may be some kernels of great insight and ethics, the occasional awakened founder or prophet, but they are often buried in all that other stuff. Some religious tales are truly great timeless stories that strike a nerve and stay with us for thousands of years.