OBC Connect
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
OBC Connect

A site for those with an interest in the Order of Buddhist Contemplatives, past or present, and related subjects.

HomeHome  GalleryGallery  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Setting Up A Shrine/Altar

Go down 
+4
mstrathern
Howard
chisanmichaelhughes
dominic.cutts
8 posters
AuthorMessage
dominic.cutts

Setting Up A Shrine/Altar Empty
PostSubject: Setting Up A Shrine/Altar   Setting Up A Shrine/Altar Empty1/17/2011, 3:12 pm

I am new to OBC/Soto Zen and would like to know how to set up a shrine/altar at home. I also fell this thread would be helpful to other newbies

1. How high should the shrine/altar be off the floor?
2. What should be on the shrine/altar?
3. Where should things be placed on it?

Any help will be greatfully recieved.Thanks for all your help in advance.

Dom
Back to top Go down
chisanmichaelhughes

chisanmichaelhughes

PostSubject: Re: Setting Up A Shrine/Altar   Setting Up A Shrine/Altar Empty1/17/2011, 3:21 pm

Where is the altar going to be Dominic ?
Back to top Go down
dominic.cutts

PostSubject: Re: Setting Up A Shrine/Altar   Setting Up A Shrine/Altar Empty1/17/2011, 3:51 pm

I only have a 1 bedroom flat so it will have to be in the bedroom if thats OK. It means I can shut the cats out when I meditate.
Back to top Go down
chisanmichaelhughes

chisanmichaelhughes

PostSubject: Re: Setting Up A Shrine/Altar   Setting Up A Shrine/Altar Empty1/17/2011, 3:57 pm

Dominic I think you will get on well here. My cat has one eye and I have warned her repeatedly , that her purring disturbs my meditation
Back to top Go down
Howard

Howard

PostSubject: Re: Setting Up A Shrine/Altar   Setting Up A Shrine/Altar Empty1/17/2011, 4:38 pm

Hey Dom

There are as many answers to your questions as there are Buddhists. Many of these Buddhists will be very definite on how to set up your alter..